King's 40th Annual Art Show

Now in its twenty-fifth year, The King’s School Art Prize has been awarded to some of Australia's leading contemporary artists.

The King’s Art Prize is a $20,000 acquisitive award presented to the artist judged the best contemporary artwork, created by an artist resident in Australia and represented by a commercial gallery, supporting both the artists and the fine arts industry. Entry is by invitation only and the finalists are selected by an appointed Art Prize panel.

The Art Prize was founded by long time patrons Sue Hewitt (former director of Christie’s) and Tim Olsen (Olsen Irwin Gallery). An esteemed guest makes the final decision on each year’s winner.

Over the last 25 years, The King’s Art Prize has proudly boasted inclusion of such artists as: Aida Tomescu, Lyndal Brown and Charles Green, John Olsen, Jason Benjamin, Jacquie Stockdale, Peter Churcher, Joanna Logue, Nicholas Harding, Martine Emdur, Ashley Frost, Rodney Pople, Ben Quilty, Nicholas Blowers, Geoffrey de Groen, Gloria Petyarre, Ross Laurie, Euan Macleod, Geoff Dyer and Jun Chen.

winner 2012

winner 2012

Geoffry Dyer - Ocean Beach